Skip to Content

INDIANA SUPREME COURT BOARD of LAW EXAMINERS

INDIANA SUPREME COURT
BOARD of LAW EXAMINERS
Register or Login as an Applicant
Register a LLP, LLC or PC Corporation

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

The following questions are frequently asked about admission to the Bar of Indiana. Each of the questions is linked to the corresponding answer. For complete information, please refer to the Indiana Supreme Court Rules Governing Admission to the Bar as well as corresponding areas of this website.

No information provided on this website overrides, waives, or amends the provisions of the rules and regulations.

For technical assistance with our website via email or to provide feedback regarding the website, click here.

General Questions


- With the online system, do I need to submit three reference letters?
- What are the filing dates for the February exam for 1st time applicants?
- What do I do if the records requested on the bar exam application are no longer available?
- What do I do if my state only has a three-year driving record?
- What are the filing dates for the July exam for 1st time applications?
- Do I need new fingerprints and a new BMV record, from my current state, for the Indiana Bar Examination if I am a repeat taker?
- How do I become licensed by motion?
- Does Indiana accept MBE scores from other jurisdictions?
- Does my character and fitness interview have to be done in person?
- May I bring guests to the admission ceremony?
- How long is the admission ceremony?
- What are the requirements for an uploaded photo?
- My Photo is "Expired." How do I upload a new photo?
- What are the filing dates for the July exam for re-exam applications?
- Do I need an admission ticket for the Indiana Bar Examination?
- What are the filing dates for the February exam for re-exam applicants?
- If I am a graduate of a non-ABA approved law school, is there a way for me to be able to take the bar exam in Indiana?
- Does an LLM from an American Bar Association-approved school qualify me to sit for the Indiana Bar Examination?

Legal Internship


- How do I apply?

General Questions


With the online system, do I need to submit three reference letters?

The new online system requests the names, addresses and e-mail address of three references.  We will send a form to your references for them to complete and return to us.  You no longer need to submit personal reference letters.

Back to FAQ

What are the filing dates for the February exam for 1st time applicants?

The filing dates for the February exam are split into two different categories. We have the initial deadline which is November 15 with a filing fee of $250.00. The second deadline is November 30 with a filing fee of $500.00. You are considered a 1st time taker if you have never sat for an Indiana Bar Examination before. Please note all dates are a post-mark date.

Back to FAQ

What do I do if the records requested on the bar exam application are no longer available?

Document your attempts to obtain these records by identifying who you spoke with, the office you called, the date you called and the phone number you called. Disclose the violations on the correct forms and state on your application that the records are no longer available.

Back to FAQ

What do I do if my state only has a three-year driving record?

We realize that some states only have three-year driving records. Indiana has a five year driving record which is why we ask for a five year record. If you happen to be in one of the states that only offer a three-year record you need to note this in your application that your state only provides a three-year driving record and then attach the driving record. Your application will not be denied because you are only able to provide a three-year driving record.

Back to FAQ

What are the filing dates for the July exam for 1st time applications?

The filing dates for the July exam are split into two different categories. We have the initial deadline which is April 1 with a filing fee of $250.00. The second deadline is April 15 with a filing fee of $500.00. You are considered a 1st time taker if you have never sat for an Indiana Bar Examination before. Please note all dates are a post-mark date.

Back to FAQ

Do I need new fingerprints and a new BMV record, from my current state, for the Indiana Bar Examination if I am a repeat taker?

You are required to submit your fingerprints to the Indiana State Police each time you apply for the Indiana Bar Examination. Indiana requires a new BMV report to be furnished to us each time you apply for the Indiana Bar Examination as well.

Back to FAQ

How do I become licensed by motion?

In Indiana to be admitted by motion you have two options. You may apply for a Foreign License or a Business Counsel License. Both licenses are considered a provisional license.

Back to FAQ

Does Indiana accept MBE scores from other jurisdictions?

Indiana does accept MBE scores; however, we only accept them from concurrent exams. You would have to take Indiana's essay portion on Tuesday and either the MBE in Indiana on Wednesday or in the other jurisdiction. You will then test in the other jurisdiction on Thursday. This only works if the other jurisdiction tests on Wednesday and Thursday. Indiana tests on Tuesday and Wednesday. We do not accept MBE scores from previous exams taken in other jurisdictions.

Back to FAQ

Does my character and fitness interview have to be done in person?

Indiana requires your character and fitness interview to be an in-person interview. Admission and Discipline Rule 12 § 4 states A Member of the committee, or some member designated by the State Board of Law Examiners, shall require the personal attendance of each applicant before the member…

Back to FAQ

May I bring guests to the admission ceremony?

We do not limit the number of guests a person may bring to the ceremony. Seating is first come, first served.

Back to FAQ

How long is the admission ceremony?

The admission ceremony lasts approximately for 1 hour. The ceremony is a court proceeding and will be presided over by the Indiana Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, Indiana Tax Court and Indiana Federal Courts.

Back to FAQ

What are the requirements for an uploaded photo?

The acceptance of your photo is at the discretion of the Indiana Supreme Court Board of Law Examiners. 
 

Your photo must meet the following requirements:

Color photo.

Individual photo taken in front of a plain white background.

Taken within the past 6 months to reflect your current appearance.

Full face view, directly facing the camera, with a neutral expression and both eyes open.

No hat or head covering unless worn for religious purposes.

Glasses are permitted; however, glare in the photo is not acceptable (glare can be avoided with a slight downward tilt of the glasses or by turning off the flash).

300 x 300 once uploaded and cropped.

Back to FAQ

My Photo is "Expired." How do I upload a new photo?

If your photo is over 6 months old, or your appearance has changed you are required to upload a new photo taken within the last 6 months that reflects your current appearance. To do so, click the "Edit Personal Info" link in the upper right corner of your user home page. The "Upload New Photo" button is located below the "Place of Birth" field.

Click here to review and verify that the photo you are uploading meets the photo upload requirements. 

Please submit a Technical Support Request, found at the bottom of the screen, if you have any issues uploading your photo.

Back to FAQ

What are the filing dates for the July exam for re-exam applications?

The filing dates for the July exam are split into two different categories. We have the initial deadline which is May 30 with a filing fee of $250.00. The second deadline is June 15 with a filing fee of $500.00. You are considered a re-exam taker if you have sat for an Indiana Bar Examination before. You are not considered a re-exam taker if you have applied to Indiana before, but never sat for the exam. Please note all dates are a post-mark date.

Back to FAQ

Do I need an admission ticket for the Indiana Bar Examination?

Yes, you will receive this information prior to the exam via your User Home page.

Back to FAQ

What are the filing dates for the February exam for re-exam applicants?

The filing dates for the February exam are split into two different categories. We have the initial deadline which is December 15 with a filing fee of $250.00. The second deadline is December 30 with a filing fee of $500.00. You are considered a re-exam time taker if you have sat for an Indiana Bar Examination before. Please note all dates are a post-mark date.

Back to FAQ

If I am a graduate of a non-ABA approved law school, is there a way for me to be able to take the bar exam in Indiana?

No. In Indiana you must be a graduate of an American Bar Association Law School to take the bar exam. Admission and Discipline Rule 13, Section 4 states that a graduate of a law school located in the United States which at the time of the applicant's graduation was on the approved list of the Council of Legal Education and Admission to the Bar of the American Bar Association (the Supreme Court of Indiana reserves the right to disapprove any school regardless of ABA approval).

Back to FAQ

Does an LLM from an American Bar Association-approved school qualify me to sit for the Indiana Bar Examination?

In Indiana you must receive a J.D. or an LLB from an American Bar Association law school. We do not accept LLM degrees even if you graduated from an American Bar Association-approved law school.

Back to FAQ

Legal Internship


How do I apply?

Go to Applications....

Back to FAQ